Wednesday, November 15, 2006

New surfing web group

Have finally decided tht if i am ever to find other people to surf with i better make a ripple in my pond. So i have set up a web group to hope fully work as a base for local kooks like me!! :)
Here is the link
http://www.surfingaustralia.com/index.aspx

Sunday, July 16, 2006

Gravel Rash





Well i dont know how many of you know what S.A.D. is. I get it every winter... By the end of winter i am usually pretty sad. Cant wait for spring to get here.

So it being middle of winter right now i am not feeling real happy so i thought i'd go for a skate no my new board and get a happy "rush"... 

Now i have been collecting bits and pieces for my long board for a while now and was really happy when i finished it last week. As you can see from the pictures!!!

The wheels are Avilas, and they just soak up the bumps. Super soft and grippy 75mm wortk of goodness... I tried the board a couple of weeks ago and it just rolled beatiful...
iving in East Corrimal there are plenty of hills so off i went seeking a small adrenalin rush.... Found a hill with what looked like a small gradient and off i went... No worries not too bad smoothish ride.... Went back up the hill and tried again, this time from a little bit higher.... But instead of heading straight i took a turn down this other street that looked like it would turn into a curvey ride... i didn't count on how quickly things can get out of control. An on coming van threw me off and i started to wobble. I freaked. and tried to jamp off. But alas my legs could not run as fast as i was rollin so.... I ended slaming the toothiest ashphalt imaginable.... Needles to say i lived. I even got back on the board and went down a smaller hill just to prove to my self that i was OK. Truth is i nearly gave myself a concussion. Blurry vision and what not, i was lucky i put my arm out and i smashed my head on shoulder, if i had hit the concrete i would ave passed out for sure...And had worse scars than the ones i am gonna get from this!! check it out!!! :D



As it turns out as i put out my arm i pulled up my shirt and so exposed my hip side to the ashphalt and that is how i got gravel rash. I was not a complete idiot and was wearing knee and elbow pads and gloves, so the skin loss was minimised. Next time a helmet will be added to the outfit!!

Well so much for using sport as a way to improve ones mood! I guess i better be more careful next time and scope out the ride in full before attempting any more death defying acts... :)


Tuesday, July 11, 2006

Wetsuits tales


Wetsuits. Which is the best suit!?!? The one that fits you best.
I did so much research before attempting to buy a suit that i even had a dream one day where i was explaining the benefits of each suit so some bugger over the phone( work in a call centre!)
I phantsied for a while getting a top of the range suit. Fandangled stretchy and thin and warm materials. But that was not to be. I tried on RipCurl and Billabongs and even tried on a Triple X thru their online shop, but to no avail.  I found that all this suits were made for men and unfortunately as a stocky short girl, they didn't fit very well.  I mean they sorta did, but not really.  Top end was not too bad but they were all too long in the arms and legs and tight around the knees!!  :)
Finally found a women's suit that fit nicely.  It is a Billabong, just like me old suit. I found the guys at Byrne's to be helpful in that they left you alone to try all the suits you want but didn't really help you much with the fitting. On the other hand the guys at Skipp where terrific in helping me find the best suit. They even made me move around pretending to paddle and checked for good fit!! :)  if you are a kook like me i would recommend them.
unfortunately no top of the line suit for me, but when it comes down to it, i didn't really need one. Wollongong is not that cold really... water never drops to 15C and is only 16C for a short period of time, so my s/s FOIL 203 should be quite enough. The thing i was most after was flexibility so i cant complaint. The Triple X suit was pretty sweet though and if the lower leg fit had been better it would have definitely been a winner. The material was so soft and stretchy!!  The RipCurls had me tempted, but the fit was just not good enough for the price, and their ladies ones i found to be rather smallish too.
We are going on a holiday to Egypt via Bangkok so maybe if i find a cheap steamer i might still grab another one!!  Got a good tip from the lady at the Skipp shop regarding up keep of a suit. Soak it in warm water with fabric softener add once a month! i sound like a total goer!! My last suit could stand on its own but i always rinsed after use and dried it in the shade... Cuddly soft suit hmmmmmm!!! Sounds great to me!

Monday, July 10, 2006

sydney surf sistas: Autumn Freesurf -Freshwater Beach- April 9 2006

sydney surf sistas: Autumn Freesurf -Freshwater Beach- April 9 2006
Finally i might be able to go surf with other kooks like me!! If there are any other kooky chicks out there in the wollongong area looking for like minded surf buddies, drop me a line!!

Monday, June 19, 2006

Gene Pool

The firs flush of biology caught me at 30. I really desperately wanted to have my girlfriends child. After much googling i came to the conclusion that unless i was some sort of right philanthropist or the beneficiary of one, with access to all sort of high experimental scientific types, it was not going to happen in my lifetime. So that washed thru my life leaving faint traces of regret and sadness for the human potential i would never get to meet. A few more years went by and the desire to have a child has again reignited within me. Since i am to be the mum, i have decided my poor girlfriend's job is to procure the sperm!
It is funny what becomes important when you have a choice. You don't fall in love on the bases of your partners family medical history, however the focus changes when you can actually choose who is to provide the sperm.  My poor male friends are all running for cover! I guess it must really make them questions how they feel about the whole parenthood thing, specially since this child will not be theirs at all.  One thing i am really sure off is that i am not looking to have a third parent.  But i would like them to be available if the child chooses to know who they are. I guess it is what's called a known donor. A mate of mine is going thru the process of checking himself to be my potential donor. The only hitch i can see is that he lives a whole 1500 kms away. My girlfriend thinks this is a plus as she is really against interference from the donor. i don't know if it will work out due to the shear logistics of it. i am not planning to inseminate till the end of the year. Again choice has reared its hydra head and we are going to try for an October child.  So in the mean time i am madly trying to figure out when i am fertile, when i ovulate, as there is not point in getting the little fellows to the door if there is no one to answer them!. I got this thing from ebay, its called Maybe Baby.  Its like a little torch with a lens at then end of it. You put spit on it let it dry and hey presto, you can tell if you have high levels of estrogen in you spit or not. I think the theory goes that if you do then you are ovulating. I am finding that i have high levels of estrogen at all sorts of time. Pretty much from when i start bleeding till after i have ovulated... So i am having to use other methods as well, such taking a look at my cervical mucus for elasticity, and charting my periods.  I really should be doing the basal body temperature as well but i am rather lazy when it comes to it!  The thing about all this data is that you can then have even more choice!!!  According to this book i got, <insert details here> male sperm is fast and short lived, female sperm is slower but hardier. Armed with this they have arrived at the conclusion, backed by imperical evidence that if one was to inseminate a 2-3 days before ovulation, all the spermy that survive to the arrival of the egg would be girl ones. hey presto you get a girl!

Thursday, June 15, 2006

Why i hate work


Now you may think this is a no brainer however the need to vent is high so here it goes. I hate the way people get mad at you when you are the messenger of bad news. At least with the customers it can be expected, hell we are messing with their livelihood, but to cope it from fellow workmates, has a bit of a sting. If only they did their job properly i wouldn't have to return their work!!!  :| And really if your get an email signed, for any further queries, please see team leader, you think they'd get the hint!!  Really.... I hate work.

Trial run


If only you could have a trial run of the things that mattered. If this email blogg thing dont work i can just delete it. I wont be forced to live with it or its consequences for the rest of my life.... I wish more things had trial periods.
I got a pair of runners and they fit all wrong, took them back and got a different size, which was all wrong in different ways, so took them back and got another pair. Lucky third time round, these fit perfect.  Magickal number three. My first life i was a live for the moment kind of one. Second one was all about studying for a better future, to make my mark on the world. I am not sure that my third one has started fully yet. I feel in transition still.  I plan on having a child.  They say they change your life so much that it could very well mark the start of my third life. But i am trying to live it now. My third life is about living for the moment without loosing the long range perspective... I have lost count of all the lists and plans I've laid for the things i want to achieve. Most of them start with 1. To loose some weight or 1. To get fit...  I am still working on that one :P  Others i have achieved on some levels, like finishing uni, making art, etc...  Of late i have decided that if it is that important to me i really should do something about it. So i have given up my motorcycle and i am making myself ride my bicycle to work every day. Its 8km each way so even if i catch the train home, i still got in a good 1/2hr exercise for the day....  Too bad about the rain!!! Still, i feel better just for trying.

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

Why i hate blogging..........

Wrote all this cool stuff yesterday. Deep, meaningfull stuff. Unburdened my heart and gained new perspective onlife. Hit the spell check button and just like that it was all gone... Pixeldust...fucken hate tht.

Monday, June 12, 2006

Why i hate not knowing....

I guess i find it difficult to listen. Why cant is just know. I would definetly put my hand up for brain enhancement ala Matrix...
Ok so here goes my first blog. I love free things!! Have only been on this thing for a few minutes and i found this:
You Were An Owl
You are stealthy and secretive - no one knows the true you.You are a seeker of freedom, and you are comfortable with your dark side.